Review: Pact Coffee – El Pinar Espresso

IMG_0822.jpg

Loosely translated as “The Pinewood Espresso”,  El Pinar Espresso is the first of three coffees that I received from the guys at Pact.

The tasting guide for this medium-dark roast suggested the coffee had hints of peach and cranberry, the cranberry I got in spades, but I struggled to find any trace of peach. It reminded me, of a panettone, it was silky smooth, with a hint of berries, not too obnoxious but by no means bland. It’s the kind of inoffensive brew you’d be happy to brew for your mum, but you wouldn’t make if you were trying to impress a lucky lady.

Brewing the El Pinar was a breeze, I tried a few different methods to see how it would hold up. Drip filter with a steel filter, V60 drip with bleach free filters, cold brew, and cafetiere. No matter what I threw it at, it held its own every time. To be honest, I reckon even Sam Allardyce couldn’t balls up the brewing process for this coffee.

If you’re like me and like your morning coffee to give you a good slap across the face and send you out the door with a boot mark on your behind, you’re going to need to dial up the dosage on the El Pinar. I found myself brewing twice the recommended amount, but that’s just personal preference. I made the recommended amount for the Mrs and she loved it.

All in all, this was a great intro into the world of Pact coffee, and the little touches like the name of the person who grew the beans (big thanks to Santos Felix) and the person who packed them, were a big plus for me. Traceability is a big thing that I look for when I’m buying coffee and it doesn’t get much more detailed than the info Pact provide.

Price: £7.95 (part of Pact Coffee Explorer kit)

Available to buy here: pactcoffee.com/

See my El Pinar Espresso rating below.

All star ratings are out of 5.

Traceability: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Taste: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Texture: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ease to brew: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Strength: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

